Shixi Park situated north of Meihua Road and west of the Gu Yuan Museum of Art is a cultural relic that is valued and protected at the Guangdong provincial level. The standout part of the natural and humanistic tourist attraction is the century-old calligraphy themed After Orchid (Yilan) Pavilion scenic spot.
Shixi Park [File photo]
The park was created by Zhuhai native Bao Jun (1797-1851), a famous calligrapher and poet in the late Qing Dynasty (1644-1911), as a replica of the famous Orchid Pavilion. At both places, refined scholars and acquaintances came together for drinks and poetry discussions. The original Orchid Pavilion came into being in 353 as a private reception venue of renowned calligrapher Wang Xizhi (Wang Hsi-chih) (307-365 ce) in the Eastern Jin Dynasty (316-420).
Bao had been chief of the Shanxi Department of the Imperial Ministry of Justice. After resigning from his post and returning to Zhuhai, Bao Jun had a replica pavilion, After Orchid Pavilion, built at Shixi near Shanchang Village. By imitating the ancient Orchid Pavilion's elegant gatherings, he invited talented men of letters there to create and etch poems on the hillside rocks, leaving behind more than 30 incredible rock etchings.
More than 30 calligraphic rock etchings scattered along both sides of a hillside stream at Shixi Park stand as testament to Bao's talent, which was unrecognized by officials of the day.
The park was opened to public in 2012 after two years of reconstruction costing more than 7 million yuan ($1 million). More than a thousand citizens went to appreciate the newly erected stone, terrace, and lake attractions every day.
Address: East Meihua Road, next to Gu Yuan Museum of Art
Buses: 13, 17, 16, 55 9, k2, 68, 99, 18, 23, 26, k11